The Key® Weekend Experience

So, the other week, I did the Key® Weekend Experience with Christine McGrory. What is the Key®?  In founder Christine McGrory’s own words:

“The Key® is an inspired course which teaches you The Creation Process®. The Creation Process® is “the know how” and “how to” behind creating anything you could dream of being, doing or having in your life.”

When people ask me what the Key® is, I say it is a kind of personal development programme, but that really doesn’t do it any justice at all. After the weekend, I see it more as an educational experience that teaches you self-empowerment. It is an intense workshop that encourages you to step out of your comfort zone and open up to some like-minded people about how you feel about your life, and how you would like to feel about it. While Christine does encourage you to be brave, no one is forced to talk, or to stand up in front of everyone else.

I tend to go into any of these things with the attitude that whatever it is, there is always something to learn. Every person there had decided to spend their time and money on a weekend fully dedicated to working on their own happiness. I have been working very hard at learning a new job in communications and when I am not at work, I am writing, so I knew that taking two full days off to spend on myself without distractions, and without work would be invaluable. It far exceeded my expectations.

The Key® doesn’t simply tell you: “Your life is your own responsibility, you have to change your attitude and create the kind of life you want if you are not happy .” It helps you to truly believe it, and more importantly to feel it. It is one thing to know that you could change your life; it is a different thing to actually do it. This is where I think Christine has created something truly unique. The Key® spends time educating you in a way that is engaging, interactive, and enlightening. I didn’t just go on a course for a weekend, I really feel like I went on a journey – and that I travelled a great distance.

Christine is a scientist. She does not believe that the power of positive thinking is an elusive, elaborate trick that only some people can learn. She believes that it is scientific, that the proof is in physics, and like Einstein believed – in energy. She believes that energy is something that is in every one of the billions of cells in every body, and that it is directly connected to your brain and your heart, and that every thought you have, every feeling you have about that thought, sends signals to your cells and those cells transmit messages and vibrations out into the universe, bringing into your life  the things that those messages attract. She believes that your cells are either charged positively or negatively, depending on the thoughts and feelings you charge them with. She explains this through videos, discussions and teachings from other scientists and visionaries. She explains the theories of nuclear fusion, nuclear fission and how understanding that can help you understand that you are a creator, and are creating your life with every single thought you choose.

Christine’s teaching style is engaging; she uses drawings, videos, and her own personal experiences to explain her concepts. She does it in such a way that makes it understandable to people of all intellects. You can tell that she fully believes everything she is saying, and that she genuinely wants everyone else to understand it so that they can better their lives. She is personable, fun, and light hearted in her explanations of energy and encourages discussions throughout to allow people to get their heads around what can be a very different way of looking at life.

You are then taught some tools you can use to observe your life, consider what things are most important to you, and how you feel about those things. You are asked to look at what you believe about yourself that has made you feel that way. And that point is driven home – it is not about what you have or do not have, it is about how you feel about it. Doing this kind of honest self-interrogation was very emotional for many of the participants, and for me. There is something about writing down on paper how you feel about your life that really hits home.

One of the things that struck me most about my experience of the Key® Weekend was how most of the people (and in particular the women) seemed to get so upset when they were writing or saying good things about themselves. At one point, we were all asked to write down the things we loved about ourselves. I am not sure that anyone in that room managed to do that without crying. Why was that so upsetting to us? Perhaps what makes us feel so sad about writing down the things that are loveable about ourselves, is that we have never before said those things out loud. And if we never say it to ourselves, how can we expect other people to show us that kind of love? That was something that seemed to be really evident in a lot of the people there – they were struggling to love themselves. Everyone had different self-esteem issues, whether about body image, beauty, relationships, work, worthiness or confidence.

I found myself seeing that I had come a very long way in my own struggle. For years I don’t think I had very much love for myself at all, and I acted appropriately. Learning to love yourself, believing that you deserve to be happy, and that you are capable of attracting the things in your life that will make you happy is not something that can be taught in two days. I think we all know that. But the Key® teaches you an awful lot in such a short period of time, and has the potential to send you on that journey, or send you further on it.

I realised that I want to show these women that this works, that changing the way you think about how things happen in your life, gives you a great sense of self-worth. I have found out some things using this school of thought that mean I can confidently walk into a room and not feel insecure about how I look or what I am going to say. I feel like I deserve to be treated with love and respect by everyone in my life. I am completely happy in my own company, and don’t feel that I need another human being to validate me. I live a completely independent life where I can confidently, but lovingly say: “No, I don’t want to do that.” I want everyone woman in the world to feel empowered to make choices that are about their own happiness, to feel worthy of love and respect wherever they go and with anyone. The way the other women at the Key® began to support and help each other by the second day was just lovely. I was touched when we were doing our vision boards and after about an hour, we all started looking for things for each other, cutting out statements from magazines that made us think of others. That is the spirit of the whole thing: supporting each other to be the best we can be, and encouraging each other in our dreams.

I have a great deal of work to do on myself, my own demons are as large as my dreams, but I think those two days at the Key® have taken me a great deal further down the road I have started on.

Christine also wants everyone in the world to feel good about themselves, to find their labours of love and create wonderful vibes all across the world – because she wants to change the world for the better, and she believes that by passing this energy and understanding on from one person to another, she can. She has certainly shone a light on my own life.

I used to be sceptical about anything like this, but the more I practice the tools, and the more I think about energy and how it works, the more strange and wonderful things happen to me. I am not sure how it works, I am not sure that there is necessarily someone out there listening to all of your words and thoughts, but I do know that my frame of mind affects a multitude of things that I am not always fully conscious of. I know that my own experience of life is completely affected by how I am feeling, and that is most definitely a reason to work on finding ways to keep my thoughts positive, stimulated and open to opportunities.

If you prefer to actually see things with your own eyes, here is a visual image of what the The Key® can do to your brain. This is my vision board before Key® and Apres-Key®. I think my brain may have exploded!

Before

After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can find out more about The Key® at: http://www.unlock-the-key.co.uk.

You can read a review I wrote of Christine McGrory’s book, Grace here.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Key® Weekend Experience

  1. Brilliant- Vhairi.
    You couldn’t have explained the key experience any better.
    It is so powerful & empowering.
    I highly recommend it to anyone seeking to make their life & the lives of others a more beautiful journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

