I decided to just be me

I hope all of my Just Be V followers are now being re-directed to my new site. If you want to keep reading my posts, please follow the new blog and sign up to receive the emails to make sure you don’t miss any.

I decided to come out of my bedroom, lay down my pseudonym and just be myself. I am Vhairi Slaven, and I write. When I started this blog around three years ago, it was pretty much the first time I had shared my writing with anyone other than school teachers or parents. It is incredibly frightening to write down your thoughts, and to share them with other people. It makes you feel very vulnerable, and a little embarrassed – but it is surprising what people relate to, and how grateful people can be that you said things out loud that they were afraid to.

The content of my posts I intend to keep more or less the same, there will be the usual Monday or Tuesday Inspiration posts, and the weekly Daily Post photograph prompt, but  I do intend to post more writing over the next few months.

The journey continues, and as always has ups and downs. I am now in a job as a communications assistant where I can be creative and I am learning a lot about writing, grammar, vocabulary, style, and about myself. It is challenging. I have made a lot of mistakes. I have realised how inexperienced I am and how much I have to learn, but I think it is going to teach me invaluable lessons about the art of communication and about writing.
My confidence and self-belief has been soaring, and plummeting. I am doing a lot of self-interrigation, so this is likely to come up over the next few months. I am discovering that I still have a lot of work to do on things that I thought I had figured out. Some of it mental, some of it related to my diet and habits. I will be sharing with you some of the things I discover, along the lines of this article about why some people feel like there is something missing.

I have some new projects on the go, some new ideas, and I am joining a local writer’s group. I hope this will be an excellent way to prompt me to write more. I can often get caught up in all of the other stuff – the websites, the LinkedIn profiles, the Dots (I still don’t know what to do with that, other than look at nice photography and jobs in London), the networking, the vision boards and of course, life. It’s easy to get caught up in the how instead of just putting pen to paper.

What I am realising is that, actually, the reason I do it is that when I write, all my anxieties go away, and time no longer exists, and whether anyone pays me for it or not, whether anyone reads it, it settles me. And I am the type that needs settling, and perhaps always will be. Hopefully some of what I write can help to settle you too, the other people out there who need settling (although a little stirring up is sometimes needed first).

IMG_2923

5 thoughts on “I decided to just be me

  1. Lovely post.

    I agree that writing is a time for me to just let my soul do the talking (as cheesy as that sounds).

    It sounds like you’ve been on quite the adventure, so congratulations on your new job and new opportunity to improved.

    I look forward to more of your stuff.

    Following you now.

    – Sharon

    Like

Leave a Reply

