The Liebster Award

I am so pleased to be nominated yet again for the Leibster Award!  Thank you so much Ana Linden for nominating me!  Please check out her blog, it’s a wonderful world of fiction with lots of short stories and a serial and some great writing.

Now… there are a few rules that need taken into account when receiving such a nomination:

I. Thank the blogger who gives it.

II. Answer 11 questions he / she asks.

III. Nominate 11 more bloggers for the award.

IV. Ask these 11 bloggers 11 questions.

V. Let the bloggers know that you have nominated them.

 

HOWEVER I am one for breaking the rules as I was only nominated for this a week or so ago, so I am simply going to post below a list of blogs I follow that I really enjoy (many of which I know have received the Liebster Award recently and may have over 300 followers, so I am going to leave it up to them whether they want to repost, answer questions and nominate again) and I will answer the questions because I think the questions are also great fun!

My answers to the questions:-

1. What three places describe you best?

Wow very interesting question – I love questions you have never been asked before!  The sea, a winding country road and a pub.

 

2. There must be an author or book close to your heart; would you like to share this information with us?

There are many books close to my heart.  Pride and Prejudice I have read numerous times because it is my little romantic indulgence, and I see myself as a bit of a Lizzy Bennett (don’t we all) however my absolute favourite is Lord of the Rings because it is just so rich and wonderful and has so many depths and layers to it.  It is basically a book about the bigger picture, but with wizards and elves and kings and queens who all have depths to their characters.  I also think the friendship between Sam and Frodo is one of the most beautiful relationships in literature.

3. What is you dream destination, that mysterious place you always wanted to visit?

I have always, always, always wanted to visit Tibet (and will).  A lot of my friends and family are worried that if I go, I will start meditating with the monks and never come back!  I just know that I will love it there.

4. Where did you spend the nicest vacation?

The “nicest” vacation I have ever had was when I was travelling Australia and I stayed in Port Douglas on the East Coast for just over a week.  it was just before the wet season and it was still fine weather but it was very quiet because it was the end of the season.  I spent nearly every day lying on a hammock reading and writing and it was exactly what I needed at the time.  Bliss.

5. What historical period would be best suited for your personality?

I am sure I would be perfectly suited to the sixties.  I am a hippy at heart and I love the music and the youth movements that went on then.  I would have been a hippy travelling around music festivals loving everyone and everything.

6. Do you identify yourself with any artist(s), and if so, with whom?

You are almost afraid to answer that question in case it makes you look like you think you are as good as them.  However, I will have the balls to answer what I honestly think.  I think I can relate to Jane Austin, she did not really fit into the social conventions of her time and suffered a lot of loneliness because of that and her writing I think.  She was a romantic, but also a pragmatist and in the end her writing came before anything else.  I also have always related to John Lennon, he just cared so much about the universe and wanted it to be a better place and he was ridiculed by a lot of people (and loved by a lot of others).  I admire that a lot of the time he choose to say and do things that were the least expected of him.  He was a good person who fought for what he believed in but he was also flawed and made mistakes, he was very human. “Imagine” is such a beautiful song, I just completely get what he is saying with that song.

7. What nice memory from your childhood would you like to share with us?

I remember dancing around my living room to Madonna when I was about 8 with a floaty skirt and lacy gloves on, completely lost in music and in my own mind.

 

8. What’s the greatest satisfaction you derive from blogging?

I get a lot of satisfaction when people like or comment on my blogs, when people compliment my writing or can relate to it.  Writing gives me a great satisfaction and blogging is ensuring that I am writing most days. I no longer watch television!!  I also enjoy sharing a community with people interested in the same things as myself, reading other work, getting inspiration.

9. What are three of the most important principles you try to observe in life?

Honesty, guts and kindness.

10. Do you like to plan everything or are you a spontaneous person?

I do like to plan and make lists, but I am also very earthy and like to go with what feels right at the time.  I love to surprise myself and consciously change my habits all the time (even if it is just not taking the same place in yoga class every week).  Change is good.

11. What do you prefer: a good book or a good movie?

Oh dear, I am afraid nothing in the world will ever make me choose between the two.  I thank the universe that I have both (and music).

Now for the blogs I am loving right now (just a little heads up to say well done)

 

61 Musings

 

Melissa Barker Simpson

Cee’s Photography

Searandyellowleaf

Burning Imagination

Scribbling Gizmos

Vagrant Contradictions

Reflections and Nightmares:  Irene Waters

Edward Hotspur

 

Questions if you want to answer them:-

1. Where are you right now?

2. Where would you like to be?

3. What other than a person would you miss most if you did not have it?

4. What is your favourite movie?

5. What is the one thing you remember most from school?

6. What are you doing at the weekend?

7.  What do you think humans could not survive without?

8. What do you think the world will be like in 20 years time?

9. Do you live in your home country?

10. What do you think of money?

11. What do you want most?

 

Thank you again Ana!  It is very much appreciated.

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

