Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/daily-prompt-sweet-dreams/

I will give you one dream and one nightmare, both from childhood. 

In the good dream I am holding an umbrella and the wind surges upwards carrying me into the air with the umbrella, I can feel the air under the umbrella, the gravity holding us up and propelling us through the air.  It is not slow, but fast and strong, I have to hold on tight and I am in no way in control.  I am absolutely thrilled nonetheless and I am trying my absolute hardest not to let go of the umbrella and fall to the ground and I never do.  I can still feel the sensation of being in the air and flying.  It is wondrous.

In the nightmare I am in unfamiliar house that is my home in the dream.  I can see a black cab driving outside the window in the dark and I know that it is a little man with a top hat and a suit and a bald head who is looking for children and tonight looking for me.  I try to move away from the window but I cannot.  He finds me, he gets me and he takes me to a big white room where there is a huge spinning disc with a sharp edge that people are walking towards in a trance.  They are walking to their death.   I am the only one running around trying to avoid the disc and the hand of a giant that is trying to push me towards the disc where I too will be slaughtered.  I always woke up before the hand could get me into the disc, terrified.

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams

  1. Pingback: DREAMS OF ARMAGEDDON | hastywords

  2. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS | hastywords

  3. Pingback: No Idris Elba, I will not marry you! | Altared Egos

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: El Dreamo | Edward Hotspur

  6. Pingback: I dreamed a dream of time … wait, it was something … hold on. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Raging Inferno | Views Splash!

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

  11. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

